MCC Hall of Fame

Join us at MCC's second annual Hall of Fame event. The MCC Hall of Fame honors alumni, community members, and MCC employees whose personal and professional accomplishments and positive contributions to the college and community set them apart.

Thursday, November 3, 2016
6:00 p.m. - Hors d'oeuvres Reception
7:00 p.m. - Program

Mesa Community College Theatre
1833 W. Southern Ave., Mesa, AZ 85202
Free and Open to the Public - RSVP Requested

2016 Honorees

Alumni Achievement Award

  • Bland Burchett, Engineer, Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division (NAWCWD)
  • Timothy Dorn, Chief of Police, Gilbert Police Department
  • John Giles, Mayor, City of Mesa; Owner and Attorney, Giles and Dickson, P.C.
  • Emmet Ronan, Retired Judge, Maricopa County Superior Court

Outstanding Athletes Award

  • Peter Fennell, Tennis
  • Ken Phelps, Baseball
  • Derek Price, Football

Outstanding Coaches Award

  • Selmer Olson, Track and Field
  • Penny Powell, Tennis

Outstanding Teaching Award

  • Karen Hardin, Retired Faculty, Counseling
  • Shereen Lerner, Residential Faculty, Anthropology

Outstanding Staff Award

  • Matthew Ashcraft, Dean, Institutional Effectiveness, MCC Alumnus
  • Sonia Filan, Director, Institutional Advancement and Entrepreneurial Programs, MCC Alumna