Membership

The Faculty Senate at MCC is the representative body for Faculty at MCC.

The members of Faculty Senate are continually working to promote better learning conditions for our students. The Faculty Senate is the conduit between frontline faculty and College Administration. In addition to representing Residential Faculty, the Faculty Senate also represents Adjunct Faculty and Students. We have created liaison positions within Faculty Senate for those groups to forward concerns and disseminate information.

The Faculty Senate also works to improve Faculty working conditions. Were it not for the time and energy devoted to improving working conditions in the past, current faculty members might be faced with an entirely different set of circumstances when it comes to wages, benefits, and workplace conditions.

MCC Faculty Senate sends representatives to the district Faculty Executive Council. The Faculty Executive Council is the body that works on District-wide issues of concern to the faculty of Maricopa Community Colleges and is the representative council for Residential Faculty for the District. Faculty representatives from each college attend the FEC meetings twice each month to conduct the business of the membership. Currently, MCC has five representatives to the FEC. At the moment, MCC holds more seats on FEC than any other college. Those five votes can be critically important depending on the issues and the direction the MCC representatives wish to move in. To learn more about the Faculty Executive Council click here.

2020 - 2021 Representatives

Representative Position Phone E-Mail
Officers
Liz Csikar* President 480-461-7378 elizabeth.csikar@mesacc.edu
Megan McGuire* Vice President 480-461-7675 megan.mcguire@mesacc.edu
Marie Brown Business Secretary 480-654-7743 marie.brown@mesacc.edu
Megan Garvy Recording Secretary 480-461-7951 megan.garvy@mesacc.edu
Philip Waclawski Treasurer 480-461-7468 phil.waclawski@mesacc.edu
Pam Harrison* Past President 480-461-7157 pamela.harrison@mesacc.edu
Zone Senators
Keith Anderson Zone 1 480-654-7300 keith.anderson@mesacc.edu
Philip Waclawski Zone 2 480-461-7468 phil.waclawski@mesacc.edu
Derek Borman Zone 3 480-461-7181 derek.borman@mesacc.edu
Mijolae Henley* Zone 4 480-461-7023 mijolae.henley@mesacc.edu
Bryce Bond Zone 5 480-461-7642 bryce.bond@mesacc.edu
Gingher Leyendecker Zone 6 480-461-7623 gingher@mesacc.edu
Kirk Costion Zone 7 kirk.costion@mesacc.edu
Heidi Van Tassell Zone 8 480-461-7008 heidi.van.tassell@mesacc.edu
Alex Cheroske* Zone 9 480-643-7303 alexander.cheroske@mesacc.edu
Mark Neeley Zone 10 480-461-7110 mark.neeley@mesacc.edu
Vacant Zone 11
Megan Garvy Zone 12 480-461-7951 megan.garvy@mesacc.edu
Marie Brown Zone 13 480-654-7743 marie.brown@mesacc.edu
Senators At-Large
Joe Neglia Southern & Dobson 480-461-7144 jd.neglia@mesacc.edu
Duane Oakes Southern & Dobson 480-461-7214 duane.oakes@mesacc.edu
John Seims Red Mountain 480-654-7768 john.seims@mesacc.edu
Senate Liaisons
TBD DCA Liaison
Marta Serpas Adjunct Faculty Liaison marta.serpas@mesacc.edu
TBD Student Government Liaison

* FEC representatives

Zone Clusters

  • Zone 1: English and Humanities
  • Zone 2: Computer Information Systems
  • Zone 3: Philosophy, Religious Studies and Psychology
  • Zone 4: Reading, Music and World Languages
  • Zone 5: Applied Sciences and Technology
  • Zone 6: Art, Speech Communication, and Theatre
  • Zone 7: Social and Cultural Science, & Administration of Justice Studies
  • Zone 8: Physical Science
  • Zone 9: Life Science
  • Zone 10: Mathematics and CSC
  • Zone 11: Nursing, Education Studies, Exercise Science & Business
  • Zone 12: Library, Counseling, CTL and Service Learning, Fire Science, EMT
  • Zone 13: (Red Mountain) All Departments, Library, Counseling, CTL and Service Learning
  • At-Large Senator: Southern and Dobson Campus
    (represents all MCC faculty)
  • At-Large Senator: Southern and Dobson Campus
    (represents all MCC faculty)
  • At-Large Senator: Red Mountain Campus
    (represents all MCC faculty)