Jump to Section

A-D | E-H | I-L | M-Q | R-T | U-Z

A healthy democracy depends on engaged citizens, proud of their rights, thoughtful about their responsibilities, and informed about their choices.

 Thomas Jefferson put it simply. "An enlightened citizenry is indispensable for the proper functioning of a republic.  Self-government is not possible unless the citizens are educated sufficiently to enable them to exercise oversight."

The Democracy CommitmentGo to the Democracy Commitment website America's community colleges have enormous talent and capacity, with faculty and staff committed to the success of our students, and with students bright with ambition and passion.  All of us share a commitment to a democratic nation.  Now is the time to fulfill that commitment. We welcome you to sign the pledge as we have!

We, employees of Mesa Community College, are proud to affix our signatures as supporters of the Democracy Commitment

 •	A public commitment to the central role of civic education •	Intentional support for both curricular and extracurricular programs that build civic skills among students, especially focusing on projects that support students in doing public work •	Faculty and staff development in civic engagement •	Partnerships with local civic, non-profit and government agencies whose primary work is the social and economic development of local communities •	Participation in a national clearinghouse of program designs, curricula and projects development strategies for community colleges •	Participation in an annual meeting that brings together faculty, staff, administrators and partners •	Development of joint regional and national programs with partner universities, and with national higher education associations America’s community colleges have enormous talent and capacity, with faculty and staff committed to the success of our students, and with students bright with ambition and passion. All of us share a commitment to a democratic nation. Now is the time to fulfill that commitment.  We presidents and chancellors of community colleges and community college districts across the nation, are proud to affix or signatures as founding members of The Democracy Commitment on this day, Friday, the fourth of November 2011, in New York City.

A - D

  • Janell D. Alewyn, Librarian, Library
  • Beth Alsen, Instructional Designer, Center for Teaching and Learning
  • Keith D Anderson, English Faculty
  • David Barnes, Community Partner Mesa Chamber of Commerce
  • Cesar E. Becerra, Coordinator Recruitment Program
  • Glenn M. Bennett, Music Faculty
  • Lucas Bodine, President of the Associated Students of Mesa Community College
  • Burton Borlongan, Faculty, Computer Information Systems
  • Evonne M. Bowling, Apparel Merchandising Design
  • Jessica Bradford, Administrative Secretary Business & Information Systems
  • Trisha Brazda, Web Developer, Institutional Advancement
  • Paul W. Brewer, Music Faculty
  • Kimberly Broxham, Fashion Merchandising Faculty
  • Diana Bullen, Business Programs Faculty
  • Margie E. Cataldo, English Faculty
  • Robert P. Chapman, Computer Information Systems
  • Cynthia Connolly, AmeriCorps Coordinator, Center for Community & Civic Engagement
  • Leigh Ann Counseller, Student Worker, Center for Community and Civic Engagement
  • Pam Dempsey, Institutional Advancement Graphic Design Faculty
  • Brian Dille, Faculty, Social Science
  • Dori DiPietro, Director of the MCC Social Work Program
  • Kevin Dressler, Director of Theatre Activities

E - H

  • Ann Ewing, Psychological Science Faculty
  •  Jennifer R. Fay, Faculty, Exercise Science
  • Janet Felton, Business & Information Systems Faculty
  •  Sonia Filan, Director of Institutional Advancement
  • Tim Florschuetz, English Faculty
  •  Christin Franco, Program Specialist, Center for Community & Civic Engagement
  • Vickie Gallegos, Administrative Secretary, Center for Community & Civic Engagement
  • Puvana Ganesan, Communication Theatre & Film Arts
  •  Dr.Annapurna Ganesh, Faculty, Education Studies
  •  Azul Gomez, Librarian
  • Anthony Griffith, Reading Faculty
  •   Sarah Haines, Community Partner Special Olympics
  •  Karen Hardin, Director, Counseling
  • Heather Haskell, Support Staff, Center for Community & Civic Engagement
  • Karen Heffron, AmeriCorps Assistant Coordinator, Center for Community & Civic Engagement
  •  Debbie Henney, Economics Faculty
  • Jaime H. Herrera, English Faculty
  • Paul Hickey, Systems Administrator
  • Debbie Holexa, Faculty, Dental Hygiene
  • William D. Holloway, Sr. Network Technician
  • Suzy Horton, Psychological Science Faculty
  • Robert Hunter, Music Faculty

I - L

  • Neal Jacobson, Biology Faculty
  • Barbara M Jordan, English Faculty
  • Loretta Kissell, Communication Theatre & Film Arts Faculty
  • Roxanne Klassen, Mathematics Faculty
  • Shereen Lerner, Cultural Science Faculty
  • Lori C. Liang, Fashion Design Faculty
  • H. Lovelady, Music Faculty

M - Q

  • Lynne A. Mallery, English Faculty
  • Jeremy P. Meyer, English Faculty
  • Charlie Morris, Faculty, English
  • Patrice D. Nango, Faculty, Philosophy & Religious Studies
  • Sean Newton, Faculty, OPD Paramedic Education
  • Rosa Pardo, Administrative Secretary Office of the President
  • Bruce Peterson, Communication, Theater & Film Arts Faculty
  •  Monica Pirshafiey, Office Coordinator, Center for Community & Civic Engagement
  • Mallory Prucha, Communication, Theater & Film Arts Faculty

R - T

  • Tina P. Rangel, Dance Faculty
  • Erin Rawson, Communications Faculty
  • Nora Reyes, Faculty, Education Studies
  • Dawn Rhodes, Program Specialist, Center for Community & Civic Engagement
  • CJ Robb, Interior Design Faculty
  • Elisabeth R. Rodriguez, Librarian
  • Christy Salam, Phi Theta Kappa Support Staff, Center for Community & Civic Engagement
  • Robert D. Samson, Networking & Security Network Academy Faculty
  • Teryl D. Sands, English Faculty
  • Rhonda Schlatter, English Faculty
  • Mary Schwenck, Administrative Secretary, Cultural Science Department
  • John Seims, Mathematics & Computer Science Faculty
  • Mora Shahan, Administrative Secretary, Disability Resources & Services
  • Kathryn Sheffield, English Faculty
  • Tanya T. Smith, Administrative Secretary of Development
  • Marcy Snitzer, Coordinator, Alumni Relation and Internal Communication
  • Nancy Southworth, Library Assistant, Library
  • Linda Stapley, Office Assistant,  Art Communication and Theatre Department
  • K. Ann Stine, Exercise Science Faculty
  • Elise Sweet, Advisory Board Member, Service-Learning Advisory Board
  • Carolyn Taylor, Adjunct Faculty, Physical Science
  • Kara E. Thomson, Communication Theatre & Film Faculty
  • Richard L. Toler Jr, Business & Information Systems Faculty

U - Z

  • Dennis Wilson, Life Science Faculty
  • Jennifer L Wood, Mathematics & Computer Science Faculty
  • Roger Yohe, Dean of Instruction
  • David J. Yount, Professor of Philosophy
  • Dawn Zimmer, Media Relations Coordinator, Institutional Advancement