2022 Hall of Fame

Join us at Mesa Community College’s (MCC) Hall of Fame ceremony. The MCC Hall of Fame honors alumni, community members, and MCC employees whose personal and professional accomplishments and positive contributions to the college and community set them apart.


6:00 p.m. - Hors d’oeuvres Reception
MCC Art Gallery Patio

7:00 p.m. - Program
MCC Theatre

Mesa Community College
1833 W Southern Ave
Mesa, AZ 85202
RSVP required
Click here to RSVP

Free and Open to the Public

2022 Hall of Fame Honorees

Alumni Achievement

  • Tom Arviso, nationally awarded journalist, mentor, Navajo Nation business and community leader
  • Jacob Chavez, Ed.D., recognized for innovative elementary school diversity programs, teacher support, and parental engagement
  • Gerardo de los Santos, Ph.D., renowned leader in higher education attainment, inducted into the American Association of Community College’s Hall of Fame
  • Aaron Franklin, Ph.D., Duke University Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Chemistry; 50+ patents, Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring
  • Dennis Pirch, AZ Coaches Association Hall of Fame, founded/coached 30 years Payson High School wrestling program; U.S. High School Coach of the Year; AZ National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Excellence in Teaching

  • Charles Evans, MCC’s first Theatre Arts professor, decades directing award-winning theatre productions, helped establish the Theatre Outback as well as the Mesa Center for the Arts

Distinguished Staff

  • Greg Reents, U.S. Air Force veteran; global advocate for cultural diversity; fosters student success through outreach to marginalized communities

Outstanding Athlete

  • Michelle Amete, top MCC All American with 10 Track & Field awards; broke MCC indoor weight mark, junior college national record in the hammer throw
  • Mike Brown, head coach Sacramento Kings, led Cleveland Cavaliers to 2007 NBA finals, NBA Coach of the Year, coached Nigerian national basketball team in Summer 2021 Olympics
  • Dave Collins, All American on Mesa’s 1972 NJCAA national championship team; 16-year Major League Baseball career for seven teams, primarily Cincinnati Reds